Music

Music

Everett's Music Department offers courses in Band, Orchestra, and Vocals.  Additionally, SFJazz supports our 6th-, 7th-, and 8th-grade Jazz Bands via our Band classes; and the SFUSD VAPA Department supports our 8th-grade Mariachi via our Orchestra and Vocals classes.  Other mentoring partnerships are ongoing with the San Francisco Symphony, the San Francisco Conservatory of Music, and the Ruth Asawa School of the Arts.

2016-2017 PERFORMANCES and ACTIVITIES:

Thursday, August 18 - Vocal & Instrumental Parents & Students (VIPS) introductory meeting, Room 101, 7:00 p.m.

Thursday, September 15 - Vocal & Instrumental Parents & Students (VIPS) meeting, Room 101, 6:00 p.m.

Monday, October 24 - 7th- and 8th-Grade Bands and Orchestras Field Trip to SFJAZZ Center Field Trip Form Due

Thursday, October 27 - 7th- and 8th-Grade Bands and Orchestras Field Trip to SFJAZZ Center, 9:15-11:30 a.m.

Friday, October 28 - Optional 7th- and 8th-Grade Band, Orchestra, and Vocals Music Tour 1st (of 5) Deposit of $50 (NON-REFUNDABLE) due online.

Tuesday, November 1 - Optional 7th- and 8th-Grade All-City Orchestra Audition fee ($10) and registration form due. Make checks payable to "Keith Gushiken".

Wednesday, November 2 - 6th-, 7th- and 8th-Grade Vocals Fall Concert; Everett Auditorium, 6:00-7:00 p.m.

Thursday, November 3 - 7th- and 8th-Grade Jazz Bands at Everett International Night, Everett Dining Hall, 6:00-8:00 p.m. Please arrive by 5:30 p.m. to help with the set-up of instruments and equipment. The performances should end by 7:00 p.m.

Friday, November 4 - Optional 7th- and 8th-Grade Band, Orchestra, and Vocals Music Tour 1st (of 5) Deposit of $50 (NON-REFUNDABLE) due online.  This is an EXTENSION of the October 28 due date.

Friday, November 4 - Optional 7th- and 8th-Grade All-City Vocals participation fee ($10) and registration form due. Make checks payable to "Jordan Carroll".

Wednesday, November 9 - Optional 7th- and 8th-Grade All-City Orchestra Auditions, Giannini Middle School, 3:45-6:00 p.m. Sign in by 5:00 p.m.

Wednesday, November 9 - Optional 7th- and 8th-Grade All-City Band Audition fee ($10) and registration form due. Make checks payable to "Keith Gushiken".

Thursday, November 10 - Vocal & Instrumental Parents & Students (VIPS) meeting, Room 101, 6:00 p.m.

Tuesday, November 15 - Optional 7th- and 8th-Grade Band, Orchestra, and Vocals Music Tour 2nd (of 5) Payment of $170 due online.

Wednesday, November 16 - 7th- and 8th-Grade Jazz Bands at Everett Poetry Slam, Everett Library, 10:55-11:40 a.m.

Thursday, November 17 - Optional 7th- and 8th-Grade All-City Band Auditions, Washington High School, 3:30-5:30 p.m.

Thursday, December 8 - 6th-, 7th- and 8th-Grade Band, Jazz BandOrchestra, and Vocals Students Winter Concert for Families, Everett Auditorium, 6:00-8:00 p.m.

Friday, December 9 - 7th- and 8th-Grade Band, Orchestra, Jazz Band, and Vocals Students Winter Concert for Students, Everett Auditorium, 11:45 a.m.-12:30 p.m.

Thursday, December 15 - Optional 7th- and 8th-Grade Band, Orchestra, and Vocals Music Tour 3rd (of 5) Payment of $170 due online.

Friday, January 13 - Optional 7th- and 8th-Grade Band, Orchestra, and Vocals Music Tour 4th (of 5) Payment of $170 due online.

Thursday, January 19 - Vocal & Instrumental Parents & Students (VIPS) meeting, Room 101, 6:00 p.m.

Friday, January 20 - Selected Students All-City Middle School Vocals Rehearsal, Hoover Middle School, 4:30-6:45 p.m.

Friday, February 3 - Selected Students All-City Middle School Vocals Rehearsal, Ruth Asawa School of the Arts, 4:30-7:00 p.m.

Friday, February 3 - Selected Students All-City Middle School Band Rehearsal, Lowell High School 4:00-6:30 p.m.

Friday, February 3 - Selected Students All-City Middle School Orchestra Rehearsal, Everett Auditorium, 4:00-6:30 p.m.

Saturday, February 4 - Selected Students All-City Middle School Orchestra Rehearsal, Lowell High School, 8:30-10:20 a.m.

Saturday, February 4 - Selected Students All-City Middle School Band Rehearsal, Lowell High School, 10:30 a.m.-12:20 p.m.

Saturday, February 4 - Selected Students All-City Band, Orchestra, and Vocals Middle-School and High-School Ensembles Concert, Lowell High School, 7:00-9:30 p.m. 6:30 p.m. roll call.

Friday, February 10 - Optional 6th-, 7th- and 8th-Grade Band, and Orchestra Students Solo and Ensemble Festival participation fee ($5) and registration form due.  Band and Orchestra students, make checks payable to "Keith Gushiken". 

Monday, February 13 - Optional 7th- and 8th-Grade Band, Orchestra, and Vocals Music Tour 5th (of 5) and Final Payment of $170 due online.

Thursday, March 9 - 6th-, 7th- and 8th-Grade Band, Jazz Band, and Orchestra Students Spring Concert for Families, Everett Auditorium, 6:00-7:30 p.m.  

Tuesday, March 14 - 6th-, 7th- and 8th-GradeVocals Spring Concert for Families, Everett Auditorium, 6:00-8:30 p.m.

Wednesday, March 15 - 8th-Grade Mariachi Students ¡Viva El Mariachi! Rehearsal, Mission High School, 4:00-7:00 p.m.

Thursday, March 16 - 8th-Grade Mariachi Students ¡Viva El Mariachi! Concert, Mission High School, 6:00-8:00 p.m. 3:00 p.m. roll call.

Saturday, March 18 - Optional 6th-, 7th- and 8th-Grade Band, Orchestra and Vocals Students Solo and Ensemble Festival, Marina Middle School, 8:00a.m.-3:00 p.m.

Friday, March 24 - 7th- and 8th-Grade Band, and Orchestra Students Collaboration Concert with KaimukÄ« (Honolulu) Middle School, Everett Auditorium, 11:45 a.m.-12:30 p.m.

Thursday, March 30-Sunday, April 2 - Optional 7th- and 8th-Grade Band, Orchestra, and Vocals Students Music Tour of Los Angeles & Orange County

Thursday, April 20 - Vocal & Instrumental Parents & Students (VIPS) meeting, Room 101, 6:00 p.m.

Thursday, May 11 - 6th-, 7th- and 8th-Grade Band, Jazz Band, MariachiOrchestra, and Vocals Students Aloha Concert for Families, Everett Auditorium, 6:00-8:00 p.m.

Friday, May 12 - 7th- and 8th-Grade Band, Jazz Band, MariachiOrchestra, and Vocals Students Aloha Concert for Students, Everett Auditorium, 11:45 a.m.-12:30 p.m.

Saturday, May 13 - 7th- and 8th-Grade Band and Orchestra Performance at CMEA Festival, Ruth Asawa School of the Arts, sometime between 9:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m.

Saturday, May 13 - 6th-7th- and 8th-Grade Vocals Performance at CMEA Festival, Junipero Serra (San Mateo) High School, sometime between 9:00 a.m.-6:00 p.m.

_______________________________

 

Wednesday, November 8 OR Thursday, November 9 - Kronos Quartet (San Francisco-based contemporary string quartet) school-day workshops for Orchestra students, and Concert, Everett Auditorium, 7:00-8:30 p.m.  (This event has been from the original April 27, 2017 date.)